Log in

No account? Create an account

Hand in hand in hand

I'm a woman in my mid-30s living with my kids (daughter born 2010, son born 2012) and loving husband in a suburb of Seattle, and previously have lived and studied in Virginia, Washington DC, and Massachusetts.

I work full time as the manager of an analytics group for a healthcare consulting firm and I try to constantly learn and grow as a professional and manager.

I really enjoy cooking and baking. I am getting better at gardening every year and sometimes even successfully cultivate food. I can walk alone for miles just thinking about stuff. The part of me that was a good athlete as a kid isn't totally gone. My favorite thing in the world is snuggling and talking with my kids, although swimming in the lake is a close second.

I believe in the power of love, friendship, connection, empathy, and service.

LJ history: I was once active in parenting groups on LJ but grew to stop caring how other people raised their kids and what they thought of how I raised mine. I was once active in atheism communities but similarly stopped caring about other people's religious beliefs. And LJ pretty much died anyway so I just stick around because I know a few cool people who keep personal journals. I'm mostly inactive recently myself.

Caring for and protecting myself, my health, and my well-being are the most important things I do every day. The next most important things are figuring out how to apply myself to improve the lives of people around me, particularly my children. With these ends in mind I am selective about how I spend my time and who I spend it with. Mostly it's been working out pretty well, but it took me a long time to learn how to structure effectively around these goals.

Life is good!